We stand in solidarity with the uprising unfolding across the country following the murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, Nina Pop, Jamel Floyd, and those affected by generations of structural violence against Black communities.

We're putting together a list of resources for self-education, mutual aid, and ongoing action in the struggle for racial justice.

Search View Archive

David Shapiro

David Shapiro is the author of more than 20 books, including January, Poems from Deal, A Man Holding an Acoustic Panel, The Page-Turner, Lateness, House (Blown Apart), To an Idea, After a Lost Original, and the forthcoming Burning Interior. He is a past recipient of the award for experimental poetry, given every three years by the National Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

Guest Critic

BROOKLYN EARTH: Two or Three Things I Learned (from Meyer Schapiro)

Art is not primarily about, nor is art not about, nor is it only about aboutness. It is an experience like love.

David Shapiro Poetry

My sad tan slim Sandy mat dim My sandal mist.


The Brooklyn Rail

JUL-AUG 2020

All Issues