Black Lives Matter. We stand in solidarity with those affected by generations of structural violence. You can help »

Search View Archive

Anselm Berrigan

Anselm Berrigan is the poetry editor for the Brooklyn Rail. He lives and grew up in the somewhat lower part of Manhattan.

Anselm Berrigan

The distinction between private and public registers has always been hard for me to find, & I think the specific logic of address often takes care of it as a non-distinction, however accidental, unknowing, or haphazard the insistence of that invented logic gives itself off to be.

In Conversation


Anselm and I first met through a mutual friend, the painter and collagist Jonathan Allen, whose artwork I’d exhibited and whose first art monograph I’d published though my press, Brooklyn Arts Press (BAP).

Token Enabler

forced to cuddle but some heirloom of power and peril it must be I have sufferings natural to me and a desire to repeat the clear truth

A Tribute to Steve Dalachinsky

Steve was a force of Nature, driven by compassion & curiosity. He was opened to everything & everyone. He was naked inside & outside with no boundary between.


The Brooklyn Rail

FEB 2021

All Issues