Search View Archive

Cynthia Cruz

Cynthia Cruz is the author of five collections of poems. Her sixth is Guidebooks for the Dead. She is also the author of a collection of essays, Disquieting: Essays on Silence and The Melancholia of Class forthcoming in 2021 by Repeater Books.

Vija Celmins: To Fix the Image in Memory

Vija Celmins began her career with the ambitious goal of wishing to remove gesture, composition, and the artist’s personality from the work of art.

Artist's Choice: Amy Sillman—The Shape of Shape

As Sillman explained in Artforum, much of what interested her “didn’t seem to rate in art history, to fit the correct teleology. Art historian friends who saw my list were like, ‘Who are all these people?’ I was like, ‘Are you kidding?


The Brooklyn Rail

SEPT 2023

All Issues